NABE Hall of Fame

NABE has a number of awards that honor distinguished achievement in the field of Business Economics.

The Adam Smith Award

Each year since 1982, the NABE president has selected an Adam Smith Award recipient based upon leadership in the profession and the application of economic principles and knowledge in the workplace and policy arenas.

Paul A. Volcker Lifetime Achievement Award

The Paul A. Volcker Lifetime Achievement Award for Economic Policy was established in 2013 to recognize outstanding contributions to the field of economic and monetary policy.  The award is presented annually at the NABE Economic Policy Conference in Washington, DC.

NABE Fellows

NABE Fellows are individuals recognized by the association for their outstanding performance as a professional business economist, their contributions to the field of business economics, and their involvement with and service to NABE. Candidates for Fellow are identified and proposed by NABE’s Nominating Committee and require two-thirds approval by the NABE Board of Directors.


The Adolph G. Abramson Awards

Each year since 1986, The Editorial Board of Business Economics reviews the feature articles published in Business Economics in the four issues ending in July of that year and votes to select those considered exceptional. Upon their recommendation, the Board of Directors of NABE presents to the authors the Abramson Award for the best article and Abramson scrolls for outstanding articles. These awards commemorate Adolph Abramson, the founder and first President of NABE.

The David L. Williams Lifetime Achievement Award

In 1993, the Board of Directors of NABE established the David L. Williams Award for exceptional service to the National Association for Business Economics in honor of retiring Executive Secretary-Treasurer David L. Williams. The award is to be made from time to time, upon recommendation by the Executive Committee with the majority approval of the Board of Directors, and only to the most deserving contributors to the building and development of the Association.

The Daniel Meckstroth Award for Excellence in Manufacturing Research

Given in partnership with the Manufacturers Alliance for Productivity and Innovation (MAPI), the Daniel Meckstroth Award for Excellence in Manufacturing Research honors the contributions of Dr. Daniel Meckstroth, who served as MAPI's lead economist from 1991-2016, by recognizing the author(s) of original research that provides the greatest insights and value to promoting or improving the competitiveness of American manufacturing. The award is presented annually at the NABE Economic Policy Conference. More

The Edmund A. Mennis Contributed Paper Awards

The Edmund A. Mennis Contributed Paper Award was instituted in 1999 in honor of retiring Business Economics Editor Ed Mennis. The award consists of a cash prize and free attendance at the NABE Annual Meeting, where the paper is presented. The paper is later published in Business EconomicsMore

Past Presidents of NABE


Past Board Members of NABE


The Shiskin Award

The annual Julius Shiskin Award for Economic Statistics was established in 1979 by the Washington Statistical Society and is now co-sponsored by the National Association for  Business Economics. It is given in recognition of unusually original and important contributions in the development of economic statistics or in the use of economic statistics in interpreting the economy. Click here for more information on the award and for a complete list of recipients. 

NABE Outlook Award

Beginning with the 2000 Annual Meeting, this award has been presented to the most accurate forecaster on the NABE Outlook Panel. More

The Herbert Stein Public Service Award

In 2005, the Herbert Stein Public Service Award was presented to Federal Reserve Chairman Alan Greenspan, who is also a past president of NABE.

University Partners 





Is your university interested in partnering with NABE on the CBE program?  There are many benefits to partnering with NABE to incorporate the CBE curriculum into university programs. More information