NABE Chapters and Affiliates


NABE Chapters

Upcoming Chapter Events

NABE members have formed dozens of local and student chapters across the US. Please see below for the complete list. Just like the national organization, NABE Chapters are comprised of those who use business economics in their work and seek to network with others in the field.

No chapter near you? NABE can help you form your own chapter, and below are some steps for getting started. Please contact NABE if you need any further resources. 

7 Steps to Founding a New NABE Chapter:

1) Contact NABE for a contact list of active NABE Members in your area to identify possible officers and members.

2) Identify a venue or host for Chapter Meetings. Most NABE Chapters meet over lunch either weekly, monthly or quarterly.

3) Identify a speaker for the inaugural Chapter Meeting (see the NABE Speakers Bureau).

4) Contact NABE to post the event on the NABE Calendar.

5) Draft Chapter By-laws, select officers, set regular meeting schedule.

6) Write a formal letter to the NABE Board of Directors requesting official chapter status.

7) The Board will vote at the next meeting, and you will be notified of the decision.


Starting and Running NABE Student Chapters

A group of students at a college or university with an interest in business economics may form a NABE Student Chapter. The following links provide more information on forming and running a student chapter.

Sample Bylaws
(Adobe PDF File)

Affiliate Organizations

NABE has an affiliate relationship with the National Bureau of Economic Research. A NABE representative - currently NABE Past President Ellen Hughes-Cromwick - sits on the NBER board. In addition, the NBER conducts a session at the NABE Annual Meeting.

NABE has an affiliation with AUBER, the Association for University Business and Economic Research. AUBER and NABE jointly host the Economic Policy Conference.

NABE is also a member of the Council of Professional Associations on Federal Statistics. NABE Past President Maurine Haver and Robert Parker represent NABE on the COPAFS board.

International Affiliates

NABE is a member of IFABE, a federation of international business economics organizations. Here are sites from some of our IFABE sister organizations

Canadian Association of Business Economists

Society of Business Economists, UK

Asociacion Argentina de Economia Politica

Association Francaise des Economistes d'Entreprise

Australian Business Economists


Chapters by State

 

A C D F G H I L M N O P S T U V W

 

Alabama

Birmingham Chapter, NABE
President: Sarah Culver
sculver@uab.edu

Arizona

Arizona Economic Roundtable 
Chartered March 28, 1972 
President: Karen Jacobs
Arizona Economic Roundtable 
kjacobs@azdor.gov 

California

Los Angeles Chapter, NABE
Chartered October 18, 1968
President: Karen Smith
AdamsSmith Economics
President@LAnabe.org

Sacramento Economic Roundtable
Chartered September 26, 1984
President:  Mallory Albright
California Air Resources Board
Mallory.Albright@arb.ca.gov

San Francisco Chapter, NABE
Chartered September 26, 1966
President: Corrine Fusso
cfusso@visa.com 

Silicon Valley Roundtable
Chartered January 5, 1984
President: Elena Smirnov-Otis
Global Asset Protection Solutions LLC 
elenasmirnov@gmail.com
NABESVRT@gmail.com

University of California, Irvine Student Chapter
Chartered May 20, 2009
President: Kerry Dang
kkdang@uci.edu 

Colorado

Denver Association of Business Economists
Chartered May 3, 1968
President: Jason Schrock
DABE
DABE@dabedenver.org

Connecticut

Hartford Area Business Economists
Chartered September 29, 1966
President: Steven Lanza
steven.lanza@uconn.edu 

 

 

District of Columbia

National Economists Club
Chartered 1968
President: Michael Chow
michael.chow@national-economists.org
president@national-economists.org

Florida

Economic Roundtable of Jacksonville
Chartered October 7, 1975
President: Curt Cunkle
Director of Florida and Executive Banking, EverBank 
curt.cunkle@everbank.com 

 

SE Florida
Chartered January 16, 2008 
President: Dr. William (Bill) Stronge
Florida Atlantic University
strongew@fau.edu

 

Florida State University
Faculty Advisor: Martha Evans, Evans Economic Consulting 
evansecon@earthlink.net 

Georgia

Atlanta Economics Club
Chartered June 12, 1972
President: Michael Chriszt
michael.chriszt@atl.frb.org 

Georgia State University Student Chapter
Juan David Sanabria
jdsanabria13@gmail.com 
Grace O, Faculty Advisor
graceo@gsu.edu

Hawaii

Honolulu Association for Business Economics
Chartered September 16, 1972
President: George Willoughby
george.willoughby@hawaiianelectric.com

Illinois

Chicago Association for Business Economics
Chartered June 21, 1968
President: Elizabeth Bleakley
Kopecky Schumacher Bleakley Rosenburg PC
info@cabeconomics.org
www.cabeconomics.org

Indiana

Indiana Economic Forum
Chartered May 19, 1967
President: Tom Dean
(317) 345-4648
tbndean@att.net

Economic Club of Michiana 
Chartered October 10, 1979
President: Donald Fischesser
djf43@aol.com

Louisiana

Grambling State University 
President: Regine Prospere
GSU Economics & Finance Club
gsuecongroup@gmail.com

New Orleans Council of Business Economists
Chartered November 8, 1972
President: Robert P. Thibeaux
Attorney-At-Law with the law firm of Sher Garner Cahill Richter Klein & Hilbert L.L.C.
kjkourko@my.uno.edu

 

Massachusetts

NABE Boston
President: Ilan Kolet
Fidelity Investments
nabe.boston@gmail.com

 

Brandeis University Student Chapter
Karthiga Vivekanandan
Brandeis International Business School
karthiga@brandeis.edu

 

Michigan

Detroit Association for Business Economics
Chartered September 29, 1966
President: Paul Traub
paul.traub@chi.frb.org 

Economic Club of Michiana 
Chartered October 10, 1979
President: Donald Fischesser
djf43@aol.com

Minnesota

Institute for Financial Economics, Minneapolis
Chartered October 20, 1999
President: Ed Hodder 
ed.hodder@state.mn.us

University of St. Thomas Student Chapter
President: Justin Hollis
holl3698@stthomas.edu


Missouri

Kansas City Association for Business Economics
President: Mark Schieffer 
Sprint Corporation / Avila University 
913.475.8891 
mschieff@swbell.net

St. Louis Gateway Chapter, NABE
Chartered June 12, 1972
President: Bill Emmons
Economist
St. Louis Federal Reserve
william.r.emmons@stls.frb.org 

University of Missouri at St. Louis Student Chapter
William Rogers, Advisor

Nevada

Economic Club of Las Vegas
President: Ken Heck
Ken.heck@heckwm.com
702-823-3350 (phone)
888-844-2676 (fax)

New York

New York Association for Business Economics
Chartered November 17, 1970
President: Gregory Daco
Oxford Economics
gregorydaco@oxfordeconomics.com


North Carolina

Charlotte Economic Club
President: Keith Nowokunski
Keith.Nowokunski@edwardjones.com

 

Appalachian State University Student Chapter
President: John Whitehead 
whiteheadjc@appstate.edu

University of North Carolina at Greensboro Student Chapter

Faculty Advisor: Ken Snowden
snowden@uncg.edu

 

University of North Carolina at Wilmington Student Chapter
Justin Barnes
jtb6886@uncw.edu

Ohio

Central Ohio Association for Business Economics 
President: Ben Ayers
Nationwide Economics
AYERSB4@nationwide.com 

The Cincinnati Economics Organization
President: Lavaughn Henry
Federal Reserve Bank of Cleveland, Cincinnati Branch
LaVaughn.Henry@clev.frb.org

Cleveland Association for Business Economics
Chartered December 11, 1962
President: Candice Ensinger
Parker Hannifin

Weatherhead Economics Society, Case Western Reserve University
President: Alex Warofka

Oklahoma

Oklahoma City Economic Roundtable
Chartered September 16, 1980
Charles Johnson
cjohnson@investrust.com 

Oregon

Portland Chapter, NABE
Beau Whitney
nabe.pdx@gmail.com
503.724.3084

 

Pennsylvania

Philadelphia Council for Business Economics
Chartered September 30, 1965
President: Ralph Giraud
STP Investment Services

Economic Club of Pittsburgh
Chartered September 18, 1972
President: Bill Adams
william.adams@pnc.com 

Temple University Student Chapter
Faculty adviser: Donald Wargo
docwargo@temple.edu

Tennessee

Mid-South Association for Business Economics
President: David J. Ottum
Division of Insurance and Research
Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation
dottum@fdic.gov 

Economics and Finance Society of Tennessee State University
Andre D. Moore
maplewood1971@yahoo.com

Texas

DFW Association for Business Economics 
Chartered March 8, 1965
President: D'Ann Petersen
Business Economist
dann.petersen@verizon.net

Vice President: Ryan Davis
Senior Economist
Witten Advisors
rdavis@wittenadvisors.com

Treasurer: Beverly Woodall
Vice President, Finance
JLL Capital Markets
beverly.woodall@am.jll.com

Secretary: Ryan Tharp
Director of Research
Transwestern
ryan.tharp@transwestern.com

Immediate Past President: Chuck Ehmann
Real Estate Economist
Axiometrics
cehmann@axiometrics.com

 

The Houston Economics Club 
Chartered November 13, 1967
President: Patrick Jankowski
Greater Houston Partnership
713-844-3616
pjankowski@houston.org

Rio Grande Economics Association
Marycruz De Leon
Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas 
301 E. Main Street
El Paso, Texas 79901
Marycruz.deleon@dal.frb.org

San Antonio Business and Economics Society
Chartered February 22, 1994
William Chandler 
WChandler@OakwellVentures.net

University of Texas at Arlington Student Chapter
Dora Sigala
nabeuta@hotmail.com 
c/o Economics Department
College of Business
University of Texas at Arlington
Room #240B
Arlington, TX 76019
817-272-3440

University of Texas at San Antonio Student Chapter
President: Jose Camacho
qrm695@my.utsa.edu

Faculty Adviser: Kenneth Weiher
kweiher@utsa.edu

Utah

The Economic Club of Utah

Mark Knold, President of The Economic Club of Utah
Senior Economist, Department of Workforce Services
801-526-9458
mknold@utah.gov


 

 

 

Virginia

Richmond Association for Business Economics
Chartered September 25, 1981
President: Michael Gilbert
gilbertmj2@gmail.com

Washington

Seattle Economics Council 
Chartered January 15, 1968
President: Stephen Land
sec.secretary@gmail.com

 





Economic Measurement Seminar

Learn more